Braised Taro with Cod Fish (芋頭炆魚 – Wu tau mun yu)

Image

Image

Image

I saw this cookbook at Kinokuniya 2 weeks ago and couldn’t get it out of my head so I ended up ordering it on Amazon. I was enticed by the homely recipes passed to us by the elderly in the book and the stories they share. It reminds me of my grandma, who I still think about often, and the dishes and stories she shared. The recipes aren’t perfect – for example, in this recipe, they don’t tell you how to cut the chilli and the ginger slices don’t add up… but that’s ok, you just need to read ahead and improvise.

I love this book and I loved this dish! I haven’t cooked with ‘geung chung” (ginger and green onion) until now because I haven’t found the wok I want yet. So I haven’t steamed fish, which is the most often I would encounter the two together (I guess other than when eating free range chicken). The waft of aroma that came up when I put the two together made me feel very happy 🙂

Update: I’ve taken down the recipe as I actually don’t think I can share it. So get the book! 🙂

