Chinese Stewed Beef Honeycomb Tripe and Daikon (滷水牛肚蘿蔔 – Lo Sui Au Toh Lor Bak)

Lo sui spice pouch Chinese stewed beef honeycomb tripe with daikon (lo sui)

I made this dish pretty much following FoodMayhem exactly, except for these changes.

Ingredients:

  • 2lb beef honeycomb tripe, fat trimmed and cut into medium bite-sized pieces
  • 2lb daikon, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 (0.44oz) Chinese spice pouch
  • 4 tbsp light soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 1 thumb size rock sugar
  • 3 slices ginger
  • 2 cups water
  • Salt to taste (~1/3 tsp)

Directions:

  • Boil water in a large pot and blanch the tripe for 3min. Transfer it to the sink or a large bowl and rinse 3 times.
  • Wash the pot and return the tripe into the pot. Add the rest of the ingredients except the daikon. Bring to a boil, then turn down the heat to medium and let it simmer for 45min until the tripe is soft/chewy (time may vary; refer to tips). Stir occasionally.
  • Add in the daikon, bring back to a boil, and simmer for another 10min, stirring once in a while.

Tips:

  • I wasn’t sure if the spice pouch had salt, so I added the salt at the end.
  • I cut up the tripe before blanching and I wasn’t sure what was what since everything was white. However, the water that I blanched the beef tripe had A LOT of oil, so I trimmed off some fat afterwards. I wonder if doing it before blanching would be less sticky…
  • It may depend on the treatment of the tripe before it’s sold that determines how long you need to stew it for as they may use chemicals to get it that white colour (I try to buy ones that are not terribly unnaturally white…). For me, I had stewed the tripe for 20min, then added in the daikon for 15min, but it took another 20min of simmering before the tripe was actually soft/chewy, and not crunchy.

…Since my mum never uses these spice pouches, I’ve asked her to share her Chinese stewed beef tripe recipe with me. Stay tuned!

Update:

  • I was told that the tripe shrinks as it gets cooked (which I found to be true), so cut it at the end!
