Chive Shrimp Pork Dumplings (韭菜餃子 – gau choy gau jee)

Chive shrimp pork dumplings Chive shrimp pork dumplings Chive shrimp pork dumplings Chive shrimp pork dumplings Chive shrimp pork dumplings Chive shrimp pork dumplings Chive shrimp pork dumplings Chive shrimp pork dumplings

I had a timely lunch date then grocery shopping at Ranch 99 with a friend! I’ve been meaning to try my hand at making dumplings so I spent four hours making chive dumplings from peeling and deveining the shrimp down to the last fold. It was my first time making dumplings and cooking with shrimp – it was as slimy as I thought, but not as gross though HAHA. I’ve also been craving blanched shrimp (bak churk ha) but don’t know if I can deal with the head on – I would probably throw it into the pot as fast as I can 🙂 It was also my first time cooking with chives, and gosh, my kitchen smelled heavenly from all the chopping. Anyway, I think I’m supposed to use the round wonton wrappers, but without thinking I got the square ones. No matter, they were just as pretty and none bursted open 😀

Ingredients:

  • 1lb shrimp, shelled, deveined, and chopped small (still want chunks to bite into)
  • 1/2lb ground pork
  • 3/4 of large bunch of chives (refer to picture), finely chopped (discard the last ~1″ of the stalk where it looks stiffer)
  • 4 dried Chinese mushrooms, soaked and finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 1 egg
  • 1 package of wonton wrappers
  • Seasoning: 1 round soy sauce, sprinkle of sugar, dash of white pepper, dash of sesame oil, 1/2tsp cooking wine –> mix –> 2 tsp corn starch –> mix –> oil –> mix

Directions:

  • Rinse the shrimp then peel and devein. Chop into small bites.
  • In a large mixing bowl, add in the shrimp, pork, and seasonings. Mix well and cover for 30min in the fridge to marinate.
  • Chop the chives and mushrooms finely. Grate the ginger. Mix in with the shrimp and pork.
  • Scramble the egg in a small bowl to use as egg wash for sealing the dumplings.
  • Place about a tablespoon of filling in the center of the wrapper, not so much that it will burst open when you cook it. Dip your finger into the egg wash and line all the edges of the wrapper. Fold corner to corner, gently squeezing out excess air. Turn the middle corner towards you (long side of triangle away from you). Dampen the right corner then stick it together with the left corner (refer to Christine’s video).
  • To cook, you can boil in water for ~5-7min (depending on the size of the dumpling) then serve with chicken broth heated with another pot. This is so that the broth doesn’t get murky due to the wonton wrapper. Or you can steam it for ~15min. Serve with soy sauce, chilli oil, or black vinegar.

Tips I got:

  • The shrimp I got was $6.99/lb – they don’t need to be big since you’ll be cutting them up anyway.
  • Egg wash sticks better than water.
  • Don’t pinch the dumplings too hard as it’ll make the dough stiff to bite into.
  • Theoretically, the dumplings are done when they float to the top, but because I stuffed my dumplings to the max, I found that they weren’t quite ready at 4min even after floating.
  • You can freeze the unused dumplings and just use it without defrosting.
  • You can also pan fry dumplings (called wor teep), but you would use a different wrapper and wrapping technique.
  • In my picture, the broth looks cloudy because to save time, I boiled the dumplings in the chicken broth rather than separately. It’s also because I’ve been using a western brand of low-sodium organic chicken broth rather than the Chinese ones because I haven’t been able to find the Campbell’s Chinese cans of broth, or ones without msg 😦
