Fried Eggs Over Rice with Soy Sauce

Fried eggs over rice with soy sauce

This is almost a non-recipe, but hey, simple can be good too! I think part of the reason I prefer Chinese food over western food on a regular basis, other than the fact that too much cream/butter/cheese makes me feel sick, is that these foods are associated with personal and/or collective history. There are specific memories that get triggered every time I smell certain dishes.

When I was young, everyday I come home from school, I sit at the corner of our coffee table and my grandma would cook me something to eat while I watched TV. One such dish was fried eggs over rice with soy sauce. Sometimes it would be sunny-side up – and she makes the best sunny-side up eggs one could ask for – perfectly crispy edges with a runny egg yolk… yum! Other times it would be easy over and there was always a suspenseful moment when I poke at the yolk with my chopsticks – and inside, I would be just a little heartbroken if the yolk didn’t run all over the rice.

I love my grandma, and miss her so much. Sure the grief may be more manageable with time, but I don’t think it ever goes away.

Ingredients:

  • Bowl of rice (e.g. leftover rice)
  • 2 eggs
  • Soy sauce to taste
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

  • Heat up a bowl of rice in the microwave.
  • Heat up a cast iron pan on high heat then add a lug of oil and turn down to medium heat.
  • Crack two eggs into the pan and cook for ~2min. Sprinkle a smidgen of salt. When the bottom has cooked and can slide easily, gently flip the eggs over and continue to cook for ~30sec. Scoop up and place over the rice. Give it a dash of soy sauce and serve.
  • Poke the yolk with chopsticks, let it run over the rice, mix, eat!
