Cinnamon Oatmeal Pancakes with Fruit

I discovered this interesting pancake from my kindred spirit and fellow blogger Jan at Simple Organic Lifestyle and wanted to give it a try! If you’re ever in Australia make sure to pop on over to her site to get restaurant review overload!! You won’t be out of ideas on where to eat! So, back to pancakes. I’ve never really been fond of the regular fluffy pancakes anyway and can’t enjoy more than one before getting sick of it. The ingredients were simple and wholesome enough so I had these for brunch with some kiwi.

Just note that this recipe makes enough for two people (two of the pictured plates below), as you can see it filled up my 12″ pan. I used:

  • 1 cup oven toasted old fashioned organic oats
  • Between 1/2-3/4 cup of 2% milk
  • 1/2tbsp cinnamon
  • Dash of nutmeg
  • Dash of sugar
  • 2 eggs

I then panfried the mixture in a pat of butter and topped it with gruyere cheese (quarter it with your spatula before flipping). I found the pancake to be a bit on the dry side, so I also finished it with orange marmalade. Sweet and savoury!

Knowing exactly what’s in it, I ate knowing it was nutritious, which was comforting. Expect chewy, not fluffy though. I’m sure serving it with maple syrup would be terrific too!

Note: Having it with a soft juicy type of fruit will allow you to skip the added sugar in the jam, like I did by having papaya with my leftovers 🙂

Oatmeal pancake Oatmeal pancake Oatmeal pancake

