Roasted Beet Grilled Cheese

Roasted beet grilled cheese

My first time having grilled cheese was in my first year of university. There were a lot of firsts that year! I had an avocado for the first time – had a bite and tossed the rest in the garbage. It tasted horrible and I never had it again for another 6 years (except in sushi :P). As for grilled cheese, my mom would make cheese on toast at home, but never grilled cheese, and I always wondered what it was from watching the Kraft cheese commercials! Well, seeing that it was the cheapest on the menu at The Spoke (the bar/lounge at UWO that turned dry except for a little corner due to the incoming double cohort (us) that wasn’t even of drinking age (!), I ordered myself a grilled cheese. It was greasily good, but it would become another decade+ before I would have another one – a lobster grilled cheese at Joey Restaurant. That was also good, but just way too rich. I really liked the ones I did today. Cheese, butter, baguette. How can you go wrong? 🙂

My inspiration came from BS’ in the Kitchen. I like Bob’s idea of frying the beets with balsamic vinegar after roasting too – will try that next time, or maybe just roast with the vinegar! The fine art of laziness…

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 6 slices ciabatta baguette
  • 1/3 medium beet
  • Gruyere cheese, sliced, or any other melting cheese
  • Butter
  • Olive oil
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/2 tomato (optional)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400F. Peel and cut the beet into 3 chunks crosswise. Toss with some olive oil and salt and place on a tinfoil-lined baking sheet. Bake at 400F for 30-40min, flipping halfway, until you can poke a fork through easily.
  • Let the beets cool until it can be comfortably handled. Slice them thinly to fit onto your bread. Set aside.
  • Butter one side of each bread slice (they will be the outsides of each sandwich).
  • Assemble your grilled cheese: bread, 1-2 slices of cheese, 2-3 slices of beet, 1-2 slices of cheese, bread.
  • Panfry your sandwiches on medium heat in your pan, 2-3min each side until they’re golden brown. Cover the pan to help the cheese melt.
  • Serve with veggie slices such as a tomato!
