Chinese Red Spinach Soup (紅莧菜湯 – Hung Yeen Choy Tong)

Chinese red spinach soup

Chinese red spinach

Chinese red spinach shao hsing wine

I noticed this bunch of veggies in my peripheral vision at a dinky supermarket in Chinatown. It was long, leafy, with red veins in the middle and looked so fresh, I had to ask the cashier what it was. She said it was “heung choy” (like cheung = long). But from some research online as to what the exact name is, I found the name 紅莧菜 (hung yeen choy). The cashier gave me a bunch of tips and this recipe is a product of that! When I got home, I realized the veggies were so fresh that a live baby snail was crawling in the bag!

Ingredients:

  • 1 large bunch of Chinese red spinach
  • 1 lb pork neck bones
  • 2 tsp shao hsing rice wine
  • Salt to taste
  • 2L water

Directions:

  • Boil a pot of water and blanch the pork neck bones for 4min to wash away impurities and blood clots. Scoop them up into a bowl and rinse twice. Set aside.
  • Meanwhile, wash the spinach with 2-3 rinses depending on how much dirt is on it. Snip off the tender leaves and cut the thick stalks into 1″ pieces.
  • Boil 2L of water in a large pot, add the pork back in as well as the wine, and let it simmer on medium heat for 10min. Add in the spinach stalks and continue to simmer for another 10min. Scoop out the pork and skim off the oil.
  • Add in the spinach leaves and boil for 7-10min. I only did 7min because I intended to eat the spinach as a veggie dish so I didn’t want it to be overcooked.
  • Season with salt to taste (~1/2tsp). Scoop out the spinach and serve as a vegetable dish. Serve soup in individual bowls.

Good for:

  • Digestion. High in fiber, iron, and many other nutrients.
