Kitchen Round Up Part 1 – Recipes that Worked!

 

 

There was a time in February where I tried a different recipe every day for a week. And none of them impressed! Was so disappointed, and felt like I was forcing Victor to eat stuff I didn’t really like myself! :S Well, thankfully, good recipes that worked came back and so here are a few I did recently!

Bolognese Sauce with Angel Hair Pasta

Bolognese sauce with angel hair pasta

The very first birthday present I asked for after we got married was Jamie Oliver’s beginner cookbook, “Jamie’s Food Revolution”. My goal was just to see what caucasians cooked on a regular basis, and learn the different techniques that will form a foundation for me to improvise. It’s just a book of every day meals, not particularly healthy, don’t have fancy ingredients, but that was just what I wanted. I’m going to be cooking everyday – I don’t want to spend hours in the kitchen daily! This Spaghetti Bolognese was in the book, and also on his Jamie Oliver’s website.

 

Mushroom Risotto

Mushroom risotto

Food that tastes good owe a large part to your memories of having it. For me, every time I make risotto, I think back to a Christmas potluck my kindred spirit’s family hosted. It was special because she had moved to Australia and had come back to Toronto to spend Christmas with family. We were talking on the phone, and we found out that we were both planning on making risotto! So we ended up having two risotto dishes at this potluck. I don’t remember what kind of risotto I made, but this mushroom version is courtesy of Tyler Florence on the Food Network.

 

Bacon-Wrapped Asparagus

Bacon wrapped asparagus

Just a simple vegetable side to go with steak! Recipe courtesy of Rachel Ray. (Actually I didn’t really like the bacon this way, so this will probably not be a repeat recipe. Regular sauteed asparagus is just as good, if not better, and less clean up, which is always a plus!)

